doing nothing

doing nothing

i’ve been knee deep in working on things so i’ve been absent from this blog and have done most of my breast reduction blogging on my tumblr since there’s a community of people there who have questions and are going through similar things.

recovery had been good. stop and go. but mostly go. i end my second round of antibiotics today to deal with a low level infection and some side boob swelling. the swelling is still there today but it’s no longer hot to touch or super painful like it was last week. i will be calling my surgeon’s office Friday if the swelling remains problematic. there were times last week where i couldn’t bring my right arm down by my side because it hurt too much. this week has been much better but my right side boob is still hard.

shortly after surgery i committed myself to a modified low carb diet. no sugar, no grains, wheat, flour or rice. no quinoa. just protein, good fats, non-starchy veg and 2 servings of fruit a day. i aim for 70-100 g of carbs a day from veg, beans, nuts and fruit which is a significant amount compared to my atkins years and it feels a lot more normal than 20g a day so my body is happy with me. i’m not eating bacon, pepperoni and cheese to lose weight. i’m eating hardboiled eggs, cherries, berries, greens, tofu and chickpeas, things that make me feel much much better. sure the weight will take longer to come off but it’s much more sustainable this way. i remember getting freaked out about the amount of fat i was consuming when i did atkins several years ago. now that i’m sticking to lean proteins and not doing any dairy i can actually feel good about what i’m consuming.

i’m also giving myself some slack for special occasions like last Friday night’s dinner at Millennium. If I’m going to go to a high end vegan restaurant you bet my ass i’m going to make sure there’s room for the dessert round. I do not regret a single bite of that basil ice cream or lemongrass creme.

it’s been about 2-1/2 weeks and I’m down 10 lbs.

I can’t complain.

Since I still don’t have the green light from my surgeon to do any lifting or high impact cardio i’m left to walking and not much else. At the request of the people in my life who know and love me, I’m taking it easy. It’s really hard for me to do nothing but that’s really what i need to do right now until i’m fully recovered. so i work on watching my food and i’ll worry about getting back to running later on down the line when my side boobs are no longer angry. sitting still is just as much a stress buster as running. so in the meantime…i do nothing, which is actually doing a lot more something than people think.

ahh, lower cortisol levels, you are a welcome guest in my body.

3 Responses to “doing nothing”


  1. 1 angelica June 5, 2013 at 5:28 pm

    Hi,
    I’ve been reading for a while, and when you stopped posting here, i got kinda worried. How can i follow you on tumblr?
    I’m glad to see an update, and i’ll send healing vibes your way:)

  2. 2 jen` June 5, 2013 at 5:46 pm

    hi angelica! i felt bad about disappearing. My tumblr is: http://iamnotadesigner.tumblr.com/

  3. 3 jen` June 5, 2013 at 5:46 pm

    oh and thank you for the message. 🙂 and the healing vibes!


Leave a Reply

cracked

history

June 2013
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

tweet

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

sitemeter


